The Canadian Home Builders’ Association (CHBA) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2017 National Awards for Housing Excellence.

“These awards are about excellence and recognizing the very best in Canadian new homes, home renovations, community development and marketing across Canada,” said CHBA Chief Executive Officer Kevin Lee.

Thirty-nine CHBA National Awards for Housing Excellence will be presented at the Association’s 74th National Conference on May 12th in St. John’s, Newfoundland & Labrador.

CHBA members responded enthusiastically to the national awards program with a record number of entries in 2017. Over 70 judges were engaged in the process over the course of several weeks to review the entries to select the finalists. Then the winners were selected by a national panel of judges who met in Ottawa over the course of three days to review the finalists’ entries. “When you are judging the best in Canadian new homes, there is no doubt that as a judge you have your work cut out for you. With so many exciting and innovative projects to choose from it was a challenging task, and it took a practical army of judges from coast to coast to do it justice! The process also makes it a huge honour to win, so there will be great anticipation and excitement when the winners are announced in May,” said Lee.

CHBA National Awards for Housing Excellence will be presented for projects of varying sizes in the following categories:

  • New Home Awards (15 in total),
  • Home Renovation Awards (10 in total),
  • Marketing Awards (10 in total)
  • Community Development Award (1 award)
  • Net Zero Home Award (1 award)

The new Net Zero Home Award is being introduced this year to recognize a high energy efficient home under the Association’s net zero labelling program. Two major national awards, one for Marketing Excellence and one for Design Excellence, will also be presented to the home builder who has achieved the highest level of success in the marketing and new homes categories respectively.

A complete listing by category of all the CHBA National Awards for Housing Excellence finalists can be found here.